The Silly Nutrition Undergrad

Thai Pasta Salad (From Casual Kitchen)

Posted on: November 1, 2009

Thai Pasta Salad -- the perfect light and healthy lunch option for a lazy and relaxing Saturday afternoon!

Thai Pasta Salad -- the perfect light and healthy lunch option for a lazy and relaxing Saturday afternoon!

Photo by Stephanie Chung

The Silly Nutrition Undergrad has moved. Come to Juicy Fresh Bites for new content on health and nutrition!

I’m constantly on the lookout for new ways to enjoy pasta. A few days ago I came across Casual Kitchen and found this amazing Thai Pasta Salad. It takes only a few minutes to put together and the flavour is so light and refreshing, perfect for a lazy and relaxing Saturday lunch!

The recipe itself is already a healthy and well-balanced lunch option. But to make it even more nutritious, I decided to use whole wheat spaghetti to boost the fiber content and also added in more vegetables and skipped out on the meat (I’m trying to cut down my meat consumption :))

As for the dressing, I followed the instructions precisely and it turned out really tasty (only a tad bit more sour than I would have liked, so I’ll probably use less lemon juice next time around).

Note: The original recipe made clear that the cilantro is an essential part of the salad — I totally agree! It really enhances the dressing’s flavour and really pulls the dish together. (Don’t even think about skipping cilantro, it’s a must!)

Thai Pasta Salad

You will need:

  • 2cup broccoli, cut into mini florets
  • 1 cup sweet peppers, diced
  • 1 cup onions, diced
  • 1/2 – 1 cup cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 4-6 oz whole wheat spaghetti

To make the dressing…

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp hot chili sauce
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 2 tbsp hoisin sauce
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • Salt and pepper

Preparation:

  • Cook pasta according to package instructions. During the last minute, add in the broccoli.
  • In the meantime, you can cook the vegetables and prepare the dressing.
  • Heat olive oil in small non-stick skillet, sauté onions until slightly soften. Add in garlic and continue to sauté until fragrant. add in sweet peppers and cook until slightly softened. Remove from heat, add in remaining ingredients to finish making the sauce. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  • When the pasta and broccoli is ready, add them to the skillet and stir well. Stir in cilantro leaves.
  • Served at room temperature or chilled. Serves 2 (big generous servings, loaded with veggies!)

I really enjoyed the Oriental flavour of the dressing. I highly recommend adding in broccoli into the salad as it really soaks up the dressing!

For next time, I’m planning to add in a difference mix of vegetables and substituting rice noodles or vermicelli for the pasta. Yummy!

Thai Pasta Salad on Foodista

8 Responses to "Thai Pasta Salad (From Casual Kitchen)"

Hi there! I just wanted to thank you for all the great blogposts and let you know I have awarded you the Over the Top award for your blog! Check out my blog post for more info :) Keep up the great posting!

[...] Thai Pasta Salad (From Casual Kitchen) « The Silly Nutrition Undergrad sillynutritionundergrad.wordpress.com/2009/11/01/thai-pasta-salad-from-casual-kitchen – view page – cached Thai Pasta Salad — the perfect light and healthy lunch option for a lazy and relaxing Saturday afternoon! — From the page [...]

oh love this great use of spices and sauces

Hi, I just thought I’d stop by and thank you for your kind words on my recipe. And I wanted to tell you that I love your modification ideas, particularly the idea to include broccoli.

This is why I love the world of food bloggers–you never know what great variations are going to come from another person who makes and modifies your recipe. Great job!

PS: Totally agreed on the cilantro. :)

Dan
Casual Kitchen

Thanks for dropping by! I really love the way you used hoisin sauce in the dressing, the flavour was great! Definitely going to try out more recipes from your blog! ;)

Some very interesting recipes here, and a very interesting blog too.

I will have to bookmark this and stop by more often.

thanks

Thanks for dropping by! I have posted more recent recipes and health tips on my new domain, Juicy Fresh Bites. Bookmark that instead! :D

Cheers,
Stephanie
JuicyFreshBites

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

